Indholdet på denne side vedrører regeringen Mette Frederiksen I (2019-2022)

Denmark, Iceland and Norway are ready to ratify Finland and Sweden’s accession to NATO

Following today’s signing of the Protocols to the North Atlantic Treaty on the Accession of Finland and Sweden, Denmark, Iceland and Norway are ready to submit their ratification instruments to the Government of the United States of America. With this, Denmark, Iceland and Norway will swiftly conclude their national ratification processes.

This concurrent step follows the joint statement by the Prime Ministers of Denmark, Iceland and Norway on 16 May 2022, and is a signal of the unanimous Nordic support for the accession of Finland and Sweden to NATO. It is also a testimony to the deep mutual bonds and close relations between the Nordic countries and their shared commitment to defend the core values that underpin co-operation within the Alliance.  


Prime Minister Mette Frederiksen notes:

“Today is a historic day and I am extremely pleased to welcome Finland and Sweden in NATO. Having all the Nordic countries united within NATO will enhance the security of all of the Alliance. We stand by Finland and Sweden and our security assurances until they obtain their NATO membership, and I strongly encourage swift ratification by all Allies.”


Katrín Jakobsdóttir notes:

“I welcome Finland’s and Sweden’s membership in NATO and it is my firm belief that their solid commitment to human rights and rule of law, democratic tradition and strong social commitment will be important for the alliance.”


Jonas Gahr Støre notes:

“With Sweden and Finland in NATO, we get an even stronger alliance in Europe. That has never been more important. This also means a safer and stronger Nordic region.”